Page MenuHomePhabricator

[Segmentation] LiveWire tool confirms segmentation upon tool or label change
Open, LowPublic

Description

It seems a bit confusing for an unexperienced user that the livewire tool only displays the segmentation result as a mask if you click on another tool or (in the case of multi-label) change the label.
Maybe it would be beneficial to confirm the segmentation when you doubleclick on the first point (to end the live wire).

Event Timeline

thomass created this task.
thomass updated the task description. (Show Details)
thomass added subscribers: floca, kalali.

I just found out that the Checklists also states the following:

Deaktiveren des Live Wire Tools
  Tool Icon verschwindet vom Mouse Cursor
  Die gelben Konturen werden weiterhin angezeigt, können aber nicht mehr bearbeitet werden

So even the experienced behavior does not fit the checklist test. We should clarify which workflow we want to provide.

I just found out that the Checklists also states the following:

Deaktiveren des Live Wire Tools
  Tool Icon verschwindet vom Mouse Cursor
  Die gelben Konturen werden weiterhin angezeigt, können aber nicht mehr bearbeitet werden

So even the experienced behavior does not fit the checklist test. We should clarify which workflow we want to provide.

@kalali That is not correct (anymore). The behavior is now as follows:

  • Unconfirmed contours can be manipulated/altered.
  • WYSIWYG: With dynamic data the livewire always uses the grayvalues currently visible (it does not matter on which time step the contour was started).
  • WYSIWYG: If confirmed, the contours will be converted to segmentations for the currently visible time step (if segmentation is dynamic). It does not matter which time steps where used to generate the contour.
  • Correction: If the tool is deactivated (explicitly, by selecting another tool, by closing the view) all unconfirmed contours will be auto confirmed. (old wrong statement: If the tool is deactivated (explicitly, by selecting another tool, by closing the view) all unconfirmed contours will be removed.)

The checklist should act accordingly.

Regarding the issue itself: I think it is a fundamental question of the capability of the tool. Auto confirm when closing the contour would
Pro: be a faster UX
Contra: won't allow to alter live wires before confirmation.

May be as an option that can be selected by the user. Something like a Checkbox "auto confirm"?

I haven't made up my mind about the best way to go, I'm open for suggestions. I just wanted to state that even the checklists state something different. So to align the tests with what the workbench actually does, we should clarify, how the tools actually behave or should behave.

  • If the tool is deactivated (explicitly, by selecting another tool, by closing the view) all unconfirmed contours will be removed.

And this is not the case right now. Currently, a mask will be generated and drawn into the image.

I haven't made up my mind about the best way to go, I'm open for suggestions. I just wanted to state that even the checklists state something different. So to align the tests with what the workbench actually does, we should clarify, how the tools actually behave or should behave.

  • If the tool is deactivated (explicitly, by selecting another tool, by closing the view) all unconfirmed contours will be removed.

And this is not the case right now. Currently, a mask will be generated and drawn into the image.

Oops, you are right. On second thought, I would keep it like this for now and make the checklist accordingly. I think would get more frustrated users if the contour just vanishes if the close the segmentation or tool. If we introduce a option for auto confirm we could think of adapting the behavior.

kalali added subscribers: hentsch, gaoh.

The issue has already been reported here T26754 and here T22395, so I will merge the task here.